Life Lived, Life Understood

Have you heard of the German author and social critic Thomas Mann?  I never managed to find the original text, so I don’t know for certain that he said it, but supposedly he once wrote, “I would rather participate in life than write 1000 stories.”

The idea, I think, being that he held the experience of life in higher regard than its recounting or documenting.

The film Waking Life puts it in the context that (to paraphrase) life must be either lived or understood, although the character speaking of it then goes on to say, “… life understood is life lived.”

Well, I haven’t written in the past few days, and it’s because I’ve been living life; and life?  Well, life has been riding me.

Over last weekend (starting Saturday, April 22, 2017) my life took a huge unexpected twist, and immense change.  I went from being in a non-committal relationship to having a live-in girlfriend in a matter of two days.  I also found myself in a position of extreme responsibility for her.

At this point, there’s too much controversy (and legal ramification) to say much of anything, but suffice it to say that I’ve been swallowed whole by a twisted back-stabbing/revenge plot cop-drama after-school-special kind of day-time television show.  It’s very “Orange is the New Black“.  I was never a fan of those kinds of shows, and I’m even less a fan now that it’s real life.

I don’t mean to sound like I’m complaining– it’s just a huge development.  It’s hard to focus on anything else when something this big falls into your lap.  As the events become a little more manageable however, I imagine I’ll have more time to write consistently.  After all, I’m still living life.  I’m not sure I entirely understand what it all means yet, or the truth of anything going on around me.  The philosopher Soren Kirkegaard said that life can only be understood backward, even though we must live it forward.  I guess that means I’ll have to wait until I can examine it backward.  I tend to be impatient, so that may be difficult.  Then again, life is difficult.

One thing’s for sure, though: it certainly isn’t boring.

Leave a Reply

