Writing About Writing . . . or Not?

If you read my “about” page, I totally warned you.  Totally.

 

Yeah, that’s the kind of language and attitude you can expect from me and this site.  I’m pretty casual.  On to the point:

 

Getting this blog set up and functioning the way I want it to has been pretty trying.  I’m sure anyone reading this who has set up their own blogs have gone through the same hassle– at least if you didn’t have anyone helping you to do the set-up.  Of course, you might be the type who actually watches/reads all of the informational assistance nonsense before even trying to set this up.  If so: good for you.  I’m not that type.

 

I enjoyed attempting to figure out most of it for myself, but there were some places I got stuck– and frankly, I think I still have a lot to learn– but when necessary, I will watch/read enough tutorial/help videos/articles to get exactly what I need, then go back to tinkering as soon as my obstacle has been hurdled.  Rather, linse, lepeat.

 

In the process of attempting to get a writing career off the ground (at least, as of this writing) there is a large market for articles about how to write to make money online.  Kinda’ ironic, isn’t it?  As a newbie online writer, you’re out there scouring the web for jobs, and seemingly the biggest opening for jobs is to tell you how best to do exactly what you’re already attempting.  Where’s Alanis Morissette when you need her?

 

Fortunately, there are literally thousands of other places which want articles on all manner of other topics– usually of the professional variety, for the best-paying gigs– but there are plenty of others which really just require some life experience and a talent for the craft.  I’m sure a keen intellect doesn’t hurt, either.

 

Regardless, this is my latest experiment in both self-discipline (yikes!) and moving my life forward.  Wish me luck.  I’m gonna need it.

2 thoughts on “Writing About Writing . . . or Not?

Leave a Reply

